A truly stunning Edwardian silver and glass claret jug which is crafted with plain formed mount and support which then attaches to an ebony spun handle. The lid is hinged and is mounted with a stylish thumb piece. The bulbous glass has additional “star cutting” on the base for decorative lowlights.
Height: 9.5 inches/24cm
Width: 6 inches/15.2cm
Diameter: 6 inches/15.2cm (widest part of bowl)
Condition: Excellent throughout
The business was established in Sheffield in 1845 by George Walker. Becoming an assistant of Dr. John Wright who had conducted important experiments on electroplating Walker secured the royalty of electroplating for Sheffield. The business was joined by Henry Hall and became in 1853 Walker & Hall. The factory was at Howard Street, Sheffield, while showrooms were opened in 45 Holborn Viaduct, London. Branches were opened in Liverpool, Manchester, Leeds, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Newcastle, Cardiff, Belfast, Hull, Bristol, Melbourne and Adelaide (Australia), Cape Town (South Africa). Walker & Hall was converted into a limited liability company in 1920 under the style Walker & Hall Ltd and combined in 1963 under the British Silverware Ltd with Mappin & Webb and Elkington & Co. Walker and Hall Sheffield were primarily Sheffield Makers, but items with Birmingham, London and Chester Assay Marks can also be found.
Walker & Co, 1845-1848
Walker, Coulson & Hall, 1848-1853
Walker & Hall 1853-1920
Walker & Hall Ltd, 1920-the present
part of British Silverware Ltd, 1963-1971
a subsidiary of Mappin & Webb Ltd, a member of Sears Holdings Ltd since 1971